WATCH: Virat Kohli hands the Trophy to debutant Shreyas Iyer after the dominant victory against NZ

- Advertisement -

Indian skipper Virat Kohli has continued the tradition which he has taken from his predecessor of handing the winning Trophy to the youngsters. This time around Kohli handed the trophy to Shreyas Iyer, who made his Test cricket debut. The Men in Blue somewhat avenged the ICC World Test Championship Final defeat against New Zealand. Virat Kohli and co. picked up a massive win to clinch the series 1-0 in the final and 2nd Test Match against the Blackcaps at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. This marked India’s biggest win by margin as they emerged triumphant in the longest format of the sport by 372 runs against the Kiwis. Virat Kohli’s men also ended New Zealand’s 10-match unbeaten streak in Test cricket.  

Virat Kohli hands the trophy to Shreyas Iyer

shreyas iyer virat kohli

- Advertisement -

In quite an emotional moment, Virat Kohli went on to hand the winning trophy to the birthday boy Shreyas Iyer to cherish the heartfelt moment. Mumbai-born Shreyas Iyer also got to lift the trophy as the Men in Blue celebrated their historic triumph at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The video clip was also posted on the official Twitter handle of BCCI.

You can check it out below:

- Advertisement -

Previously as well, back in 2017, when India picked up the win in the third and final T20I in Thiruvananthapuram to clinch their maiden bilateral series 2-1 against the black caps, speedster Mohammed Siraj had made his debut in the shortest format of the sport. That time around, Kohli had also handed the winning trophy over to Siraj, who looked ecstatic and overwhelmed.

- Advertisement -

Mayank Agarwal was the player of the match for his 150 runs in the first innings and 62-run knock in the second. The Blackcaps batted poorly in the second Test where they were bowled out for 62 runs in the first innings and 167 in the second.

ALSO READ: Anil Kumble reveals how his life changed after picking a 10-for against Pakistan

R.Ashwin was the player of the series for his 14 wickets in the 2 Tests. New Zealand lost the game but the match will be remembered for Ajaz Patel’s heroics with the ball. The off-spinner had picked all the 10 Indian wickets to fall in the first innings and became only the third bowler to do so after Anil Kumble (1999) and Jim Laker (1956).


  • Virat Kohli hands the winning trophy to Shreyas Iyer
  • Iyer lifts the trophy in joy as Team India celebrated
- Advertisement -

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular