Sourav Ganguly to lead India against the Rest of the World in a special legend match on 15th September

- Advertisement -

As per the latest developments, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly is all set to resume his leadership duties for India in a special match against the Rest of the World which will be held on 15th September. 

Sourav Ganguly: Don't think players will only play for the money | Cricket News - Times of India

- Advertisement -

The Legends League Cricket is returning for its second season and this edition is dedicated to the 75th year celebration of Indian Independence the first match of the season will be a special match to be held on September 15 at Eden Garden, Kolkata. It will be played between India vs World as India Maharajas vs World Giants. Players from across 10 foreign countries will be participating in the match.

The league will commence the next day on September 16, 2022, wherein 4 teams in franchise format will be competing in the Legends League Cricket Franchise format. Overall 15 matches will be played this season.

Sourav Ganguly to lead Team India once again

- Advertisement -

BCCI Chief Sourav Ganguly Lauds India's Win In England: 'Pant Just Special, So Is Pandu'

Ravi Shastri, Commissioner, Legends League Cricket said, “This is a proud moment for us that we are celebrating the 75th year of our independence. As a proud Indian, it gives me immense satisfaction to share that we have decided to dedicate this year league to the 75th year of Independence celebration.”

- Advertisement -

Raman Raheja, Co-Founder & CEO, of Legends League Cricket, revealed the news that former Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly will be leading India and World Cup-winning skipper Eoin Morgan will lead the World Giants.

He said, “We took this decision to be part of this year’s Independence Celebrations, considering that it’s a moment of pride for every Indian. Further, India Maharajas will be led by Sourav Ganguly and World Giants will be led by Eoin Morgan for the Social cause match on September 16. Thereafter the 4 Franchise owned teams would be competing in the league over 22 days. 

He added “Eden Garden has a long-standing legacy, and the stadium is a legend in itself. We are working on the finer details for the match at Kolkata with the CAB authorities for the necessary approvals and shall go ahead as advised by them.”

Squads for the special match to be played on September 15 at Eden Garden

India Maharajas: Sourav Ganguly (C), Virender Sehwag, Mohammed Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, Subramaniam Badrinath, Irfan Pathan, Parthiv Patel (wk), Stuart Binny, S Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, Naman Ojha (wk), Ashoke Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Ajay Jadeja, RP Singh, Joginder Sharma and Reetinder Singh Sodhi.

World Giants: Eoin Morgan (c), Lendl Simmons, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Sanath Jayasuriya, Matt Prior (wk), Nathan McCullum, Jonty Rhodes, Muttiah Muralitharan, Dale Steyn, Hamilton Masakadza, Mashrafe Mortaza, Asghar Afghan, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Kevin O Brien and Dinesh Ramdin (wk).


• Sourav Ganguly to lead Indian legends in a special match on 15th September.

• Legends Cricket League returns for its 2nd season on 16th September.


- Advertisement -

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular