WATCH: Indian team arrive in Trinidad ahead of the 3-match ODI series against Windies

- Advertisement -

The Indian contingent arrived in the Caribbean on Wednesday for the upcoming three-match ODI series and five-match Test series against the West Indies which starts on July 22, where all three games will be played at the Port of Spain. 


- Advertisement -

The Indian team arrived in a hotel in Trinidad and BCCI’s official Twitter handle confirmed their arrival. The second and the third ODI will be played on July 24 and 27 respectively.

- Advertisement -

Shikhar Dhawan to lead the Indian team in the ODI series

3 Reasons Why Shikhar Dhawan Deserved A Place In India's Squad For T20 World Cup

The Men in Blue will be led by Shikhar Dhawan, who will be leading the Indian side for the second time in his career. His previous commitment came in Sri Lanka last year in the white ball series. Ravindra Jadeja will serve as his deputy which is set to be his first outing in a leadership role in the Indian colours.

- Advertisement -

The Indian team’s main guns such as Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, and Jasprit Bumrah are rested for this series. Virat Kohli and Bumrah are also rested for the T20I series which starts on 29 July, while others will make a return.

Youngsters like Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Hooda, and Sanju Samson, among others, are expected to feature in the playing XI in the absence of the first-choice players and will look to make the most out of their opportunities in the Caribbean. Shubhman Gill has also earned an Indian cap in the ODI format for the first time since the Australian series in 2020.

Deepak Hooda, Sanju Samson guide India to a comfortable victory over Derbyshire in warm-up match

India ODI Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh

West Indies ODI Squad: Nicholas Pooran (C), Shamarh Brooks, Brandon King, Rovman Powell, Keacy Carty, Kyle Mayers, Jason Holder, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Jayden Seales.


• India arrive in Trinidad for the ODI series against West Indies.

• Shikhar Dhawan will lead India in the ODI series.


WATCH: Rajasthan Royals teammates R Ashwin, Riyan Parag and others join in to create a funny reel

- Advertisement -

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular