India to face Pakistan in the Women’s World Cup opener on March 6

- Advertisement -

The ICC Women’s World Cup is set to have an explosive start as the first set of games will see two massive rivalries take the centre stage. The defending champions England will take on the defending T20 champions Australia on March 5 in Hamilton. The runner’s up of the 2017 Women’s World Cup India will take on their arch-rivals Pakistan on March 6 in Tauranga. 

Women's World Cup

- Advertisement -

New Zealand, which has the opportunity to host the Women’s World Cup, will be hosting the event in six cities namely Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Tauranga, and Wellington. A total of 31 games will be played across 31 days, with the eight teams clashing to get their hands on the coveted World Cup trophy.

The top four teams i.e. Australia, England, South Africa, and India qualified for the event on the basis of their position in ICC Women’s Championship 2017-20 while New Zealand automatically qualified as hosts.

- Advertisement -

Whereas, on the basis of team rankings, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and West Indies were the final three teams to book their berth for the World Cup after the Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier was called off due to COVID-related uncertainty. Cricketing giants Sri Lanka missed out on the qualification berth.

What is the format of the Women’s World Cup 2022?

Full match schedule for ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2022 announced

- Advertisement -

Similar to the 2019 Men’s World Cup, the Women’s World Cup will be played in a round-robin format. The tournament will be played in the league format, where all eight teams will face each other once, at the end of which the top four sides will qualify for the semi-finals.

The first semi-final will be played at The Basin Reserve in Wellington on March 30 while The Hagley Oval in Christchurch will host the second semi-final on March 31 and the final on April 3. Both the semi-finals and the finals will have a reserve day in place.

This will be the first major Women’s cricketing event since the 2020 T20 World Cup in Australia.


• India to face Pakistan in their Women’s World Cup opener

• The World Cup commences from March 4 and will be held in New Zealand


- Advertisement -

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular