BCCI reportedly sacked Virat Kohli as ODI Captain after 48-hour ultimatum

- Advertisement -

The Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI) named Rohit Sharma the new ODI captain. But it turns out Virat Kohli did not step down as the skipper despite the board’s ultimatum. The apex board had waited for the last 48 hours for Kohli to voluntarily step down from ODI captaincy. However, Virat Kohli who recently relinquished the T20 captaincy did not follow the instructions of BCCI.  By the 49th hour, Kohli lost position to Rohit Sharma, as he was named the new leader of the team.

BCCI never mentioned Virat Kohli while appointing Rohit Sharma as the captain

virat kohli 1

- Advertisement -

Kohli’s sacking was not even addressed by the BCCI statement, which merely stated that the selection committee has decided to name Rohit captain of the ODI and T20I teams going forward. BCCI released a statement: “The All-India Senior Selection Committee also decided to name Mr Rohit Sharma as the Captain of the ODI & T20I teams going forward.”

The BCCI and its national selection committee sacked the decorated Kohli, who perhaps carried the ambition of leading India at home in the 2023 ODI World Cup.

- Advertisement -

Rohit Sharma has led Team India in the 50-over format on some occasions before in the absence of Virat Kohli. His crowning achievement so far has come in the form of an Asia Cup in 2018.

The bilateral ODI series at home earlier this year marked Kohli’s final assignment as Team India’s captain in the format. India secured a 2-1 win in the series. Rohit Sharma’s first series of contests as permanent ODI captain will be the upcoming bilateral fixtures against South Africa.

- Advertisement -

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli reaches milestone; becomes a player with 50 international wins in each format of the game

Alongwith the captaincy announcement, the BCCI also announced the squad that will travel to South Africa for the Test series starting later this month.

Virat Kohli (Capt),Rohit Sharma(vc), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(wk), Wriddhiman Saha(wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

Standby Players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla.


  • BCCI reportedly sacked Virat Kohli from captaincy
  • BCCI appointed Rohit Sharma as the new ODI skipper
- Advertisement -

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular